Sunday, 5 October 2014

Dom takes 3rd at Denbies

Dom tracking his man closely at Denbies
By Adrian Webb
Monday, October 6, 2014 - 12:25
adewebb's picture

On an incredible misty autumnal morning in the Surrey Hills, 60 riders turned up for the second RCC/DCC hosted elimination hill climb event, Denbies Duels 2014.  The strong turn out was matched by some incredible efforts and finish line sprints from the competitors with RCC's own Dom Clegg taking 3rd place on the day, pushing DCC's super strong rider, Andy Ross out of the podium position.

The opening heats began at 8.30am with every rider matched against a similar standard competitor but the top riders going through on times.  One of the eventual finalists, Edmund Bradbury, set the fastest time of the day on the very first ride with a 4:15 for the 1.7km course. 


It was great to see some new Redhill faces at the event with a special mention for Tim B, who has been showing his fitness in the G5s of late despite those plimsolls and pedals. Today, he was there representing the club in some shiny new cleated shoes and recorded a great time in winning his heat but alas not quick enough to go through.


In the women's event, other competitors were justifiably worried by the presence of Women's National Hill Climb Champion, Maryka Sennema... and so they should with Marryka pushing on to victory while being given a decent ride for her money by fellow Kingston Wheeler, Alice Lethbridge.  Our own Cat Gaskell put in a strong ride but was up against Alice in her rounds. She still took the £30 prize for fastest RCC woman.


The men's quarter finals saw a show of quality with the following line up and results...

Qtr Final 1      
PairStartSeedRider No.NameTimeWinner (x)
 <td colspan="1" rowspan="2" ;="" text-align:center;="" vertical-align:middle;="" white-space:nowrap"="">
11Edmund Bradbury x
85Freddie Philips  
Qtr Final 2      
PairStartSeedRider No.NameTimeWinner (x)
49Dominic Clegg x
1230Daniel Slotte  
Qtr Final 3      
PairStartSeedRider No.NameTimeWinner (x)
217Daniel Sullivan x
106Jon Hughes  
Qtr Final 4      
PairStartSeedRider No.NameTimeWinner (x)
315Andy Ross x
1121Josh Ellis  


The semis took it up another notch with Edmund Bradbury proving his mettle against Dom who had looked effortless to this point. Likewise, Andy Ross found Dan Sullivan's power and focus too much. 


So, in the end it came down to a head-to-head shoot out between Dan Sullivan of Norwood Paragon who looked in absolutely stunning shape all morning (despite having to climb the hill five times in all to win) and Edmund Bradbury representing the Cambridge University CC team. The two were very close entering the final sprint zone but Dan was ahead and stayed ahead to the line winning by less than half a wheel but looking like he perhaps still had just one more gear left.


On the day, the Junior prize was won by Freddie Philips of Maison Du Velo who put in some astonishing rides and times, eventually making it through to the Quarter Finals. Also, a mention is deserved for 14 year old Josie Shepherd who was pitted against Marryka in early rounds but rode her heart out in a very creditable performance to trail her by less than 50 yards in the end. This was probably the Organising Committee's 'pick of the bunch' for sheer guts. Watch out for Josie's name in future! We should also add that this meant that TWO juniors made it beyond Round 1... so there is fresh hope for the future of British Cycling here locally. 


Finally, chapeau to Bruce for flying the Vets' flag for RCC and clocking a very strong time in the process.


A HUGE thank you to the marshals on the day, a large gang who made the event run professionally and smoothly throughout - despite horses, reluctant runners and at one stage a tractor on the course. A particular mention to Nathan's daughter Maisie who worked tirelessly sweeping the whole 1.7km course near enough of leaves to ensure rider safety.  And of course to Nathan and Rick who between them gave up days of time and acres of paperwork, worry and stress to make the event happen. 


Thanks too to Evans Cycles who provided generous vouchers to the Women's competition winners on the day.


If you would like to see the spreadsheet of the full results, cut and paste the following into your browser:





Thanks to all the helpers who gave up their time...

  • Maurice Brennan - Rider Supporter at the start
  • Jonny Bradbourne - Time keeper at the start
  • Maisie Camberlain
  • Heidi Strapp
  • Roy Brown
  • Clive Lucy
  • Steve Grant
  • Andrew Murray
  • Michelle Arthurs-Brennan